First harvest


The other day I got the wonderful joy of harvesting our first vegetables from our garden.
Butter beans, as yellow as the sun and despite getting a decent handful of them there is still heaps growing on the plants.

image

We also got a few pods of peas, but they didn’t last long enough for a photo. My partner was amazed at how sweet and tasty they were. But that is what fresh vegetables taste like. No sprays, no fertilizers just water, sunshine and compost and a few little critter friends. Such as the family of lady bugs that have made themselves at home in our beans.

In a week or so we will have green beans, more peas, and possibly carrots. (That reminds me; I need to dig up the potatoes tomorrow).
Hopefully the Italian Broccoli will start to form heads soon, the plants are almost thigh high. The cauliflower plants are getting bigger and bigger. Everything seems to be loving the cooler weather.

Other then that I’ve been getting back into my art and drawing lately so thought I would draw some peas with our new Faber-castel polychromos pencils and my letraset promarkers.

image

image

One thought on “First harvest

Leave a Reply

