Learning never stops- the road to putting food on the table


Looking back I started this journey rather naively. My gardening knowledge came purely from my parents and my childhood. 

We have been lucky in some aspects, we have had yummy butter beans, a few peas, and now the first of the romanesco broccoli is being devoured. But we have had some fails too, positioning of the beds, carrots ended stunted so we chucked them on the compost heap, the butter beans took over, the bush peas needed support and we left the cauliflower too long and it’s gone to seed. 

Every mistake or failure is an opportunity to learn and learn we have. Which means there is going to be a bit of an over haul shortly of the gardens. But we haven’t given up. 

Eating deliciously fresh chemical free beautiful romanesco broccoli definitely motivates one.

This head had started to go to seed but still very very tasty.

So what’s growing at the moment, well a fair bit: leeks, garlic, more romanesco broccoli, peas, cauliflower seedlings, spinach, dill, tarragon, rosemary, oregano, parsley and chives. 

The days are getting longer again and my green fingers are really starting to itch. All I need is one fine weekend, please ask the weather gods to nice for me. 

3 thoughts on “Learning never stops- the road to putting food on the table

Leave a comment